Carl Bernstein Outs 21 Republican Senators As Anti-Trump

WASHINGTON, DC - DECEMBER 04: Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) speaks to reporters following a closed briefing on intelligence matters on Capitol Hill on December 4, 2018 in Washington, DC. (Photo by Zach Gibson/Getty Images)

Journalist Carl Bernstein didn’t hold back on Twitter when he outed 21 GOP senators who he says secretly have “extreme contempt” for President Donald Trump.

Bernstein posted a series of tweets on Sunday night that named the lawmakers who have “repeatedly” made their disdain for Trump known in their inner circles. He wrote that he wasn’t “violating any pledge of journalistic confidentially” in sharing their names.

His list included two senators who have openly criticized the president before, Sens. Mitt Romney and Ben Sasse. But it also included lawmakers who haven’t been so public about their views of the president. Included on his list: Sens. Marco Rubio, John Cornyn, Rick Scott, Martha McSally, Lamar Alexander, Roy Blunt, Mike Braun, Richard Burr, Susan Collins, Chuck Grassley, Jerry Moran, Lisa Murkowski, Rob Portman, Pat Roberts, Tim Scott, Richard Shelby, John Thune, Pat Toomey, and Todd Young.

Bernstein’s tweets came after a Friday appearance on CNN’s “New Day” where he first brought up the GOP lawmakers who were keeping quiet about their disapproval of the president amid his challenge of the election results.

“Many, if not most, of these individuals — from what I have been told — were happy to see Donald Trump defeated in this election, as long as the Senate could be controlled by the Republicans,” Bernstein said. “They’ve experienced Donald Trump and his dishonesty, and his pathological lying. And they know what Donald Trump has done to undermine the confidence in our institutions in this country. They’ve lived through the pandemic while his homicidal negligence is responsible for the deaths of hundreds of thousands of Americans. They know what’s going on.”

Author : Marisa Herman

Source : News Max : Carl Bernstein Outs 21 Republican Senators as Anti-Trump